Morriston RFC Male Choir - Canwn ein Cân / United in Song

Product Description
  • Product ID : Sain SCD2772
  • Label: Sain
  • Genre: Choral
  • Format: Album
  • Released: 2017

Morriston RFC Male Choir is one of the youngest premier Welsh Male Choirs, with a hard-earned reputation for a very high standard of performance. The choir was originally formed 1978 by twelve members of Morriston Rugby Club, singing while hosted by various rugby clubs after attending rugby internationals. It soon developed into a fundraising choir, entertaining in small venues for local charities and residential homes. As the years passed the membership increased, and at the present time the choir has almost 90 members.

The primary aim of the choir is the singing of choral music in public concerts to aid and raise funds for charitable institutions. Their repertoire is wide-ranging and varied, encompassing sacred music, operatic arias, traditional Welsh hymns and airs, musical show numbers, etc. The choir is a registered charity and does not charge for its charitable performances, with the exception of sharing travel expenses. They also sing (for a fee) at weddings and corporate events.

The choir has undertaken several tours to various European countries, and one of the most memorable was representing Wales at the 10-day 2012 InterCeltique Festival in Lorient, Brittany. Their Musical Director D. Huw Rees had the honour of conducting the massed participants (including many pipe bands) in each finalé of the five late-night stadium extravaganzas. In May/June 2016 they enjoyed a successful concert tour of the Mosel region of Germany, and in July they won First Prize at the Gŵyl Fawr Aberteifi Eisteddfod.
The choir is committed to encouraging young musical talent within the community, involving local primary and secondary school choirs and soloists to give young performers the experience of a wider audience. In March they held their 4th Schools Choral Competition in Tabernacle Chapel.
In October 2017 they embarked on a short tour to Flanders, singing at the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres, and held a concert in Lille Cathedral.

Track Listing

  1.   Alexander's Ragtime Band
  2.   O Fab y Dyn
  3.   You Raise Me Up
  4.   The Holy City
  5.   Make Them Hear You
  6.   The Lord's Prayer
  7.   Y Darlun
  8.   World in Union
  9.   Mansions of the Lord
  10.   In Memoriam
  11.   Give Me That Old Time Religion
  12.   O Gymru
  13.   Anfonaf Angel (Trac Bonws / Bonus Track)
Maximum quantity available reached.